Times Flies—BC and AC but coming back soon!!

Keepcalm

Time use to fly by before cancer…which I refer to as “BC” and I would say it also does “AC” or After Cancer and sometimes I wonder if it goes faster.  It has been just over a year since my last post.  What the hell have I been doing?   Although, I am not yet back to work, I have been busy recuperating…. physically and  mentally.   The odd day or two (more than that) I have had to just relax and stay low key.

After formal cancer treatment ends, there is ongoing medicine and check-ups.  I am getting monthly injections to shut down the ovaries which I have to get in the chemo ward.  In December, I am scheduled to have those little estrogen producing organs removed.  I don’t need them anymore and it will enable me to stop the injections and try different hormonal therapy drugs with hopefully fewer side effects.   Eventually and shortly after surgery,  I will have to get Zometa infusions which are highly recommended for those with breast cancer.  The fun never ends.  I honestly find it a bit of an adventure…

Aside from the medical aspect, there is that feeling of trying to utilize your time effectively.  For me, I want to make sure my life is meaningful and I feel I am meant to do something else different from what I have been doing in my regular day job.   I still haven’t figured it all out.

Believe it or not, for me, life AC has been a life of discovery and adventure.  It is a time to explore what I like and don’t like.  It is a time to look after my family and myself.

Here is a list of stuff I have been exploring, doing…

  • MBSR course (Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction) -recommended for anyone & beneficial for those recovering from any health issue
  • Picking up the Pieces (Life after Cancer) -10 or 12 week course
  • Enterprising Careers-10 week course to help figure out what you like to do
  • MCBT (Mindfulness Cognitive Based Therapy) -again highly recommend
  • Zumba & exercise (very important to do this as much as possible)
  • CPR & First Aid -good to have and I am good til 2022
  • Reiki Level 1 & 2-something I want to further explore but I am now an ENERGY HEALER; (I often chant…Heal Titty Titty!)
  • Got accepted to Volunteer at my local hospital as a Patient Family Advisor (A Co-Chair no less)
  • Got accepted to Volunteer at my local hospice where I just completed a Palcare course (30 hour course) and will need to attend a registration to see how I can assist those in need
  • and most recently been asked to Co-Chair a Women’s support group and I will be taking a facilitation course this weekend

I still don’t know what I want to do when I grow up!!  I am slowly figuring out what makes me happy!  I do believe it is working with others……  I really hope my posts provide some meaningful insights to anyone going thru something significant…like friggin cancer.

Even for the healthier people out there, you never know when you are going to be hit by a bus or the cancer stick…so what I can recommend is to start reflecting and planning now!!  Try different things…do something you have never done! (Keep it legal and Keep it safe!)  Have you tried volunteering?

I hope to start blogging a little more regularly as it has been way too long!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!  A time to dress up and be something else and have a sweet treat!!    For me, it was appropriate to publish this post in this timeframe especially because I am trying a number of things and I am finding it is sweetening my life!!

HappyHalloween

 

 

4 thoughts on “Times Flies—BC and AC but coming back soon!!

  1. Great to see you back posting. Your right it has been far to long between posts. You are a very good writer and have a great way expressing your thoughts regarding you cancer journey. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy to see you back blogging! Thrilled at all the things you have accomplished! You go girl! There is so much info out there and it helps to share.

    Like

    1. Thanks Irene. I figured it was time. Hope you are doing well. We need to get together in the New Year.

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close